Despite all of my exams I’ve managed to read a quite a few books and few of them even made it to my favourites list! Without further ado, let’s get started!

The Final Empire by Brandon Sanderson

Rating: 5/5 stars

I started May really strong. So strong that this book became one of my favourite books of 2016, one of my all-time favourite fantasy books and Brandon Sanderson is now one of my favourite authors. Lots of favourites, eh? Now I want to own all of Brandon Sanderson’s books and if you’re one of those people who haven’t read Mistborn trilogy yet, you DEFINITELY SHOULD!!!

Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

Rating: 5/5 starsIMG_20160508_185833

With the upcoming movie, I finally decided to read Me Before Your and see what the hype is all about. I’m not really a contemporary or chick-lit reader, so I wasn’t expecting to be blown away or something. But this book left me sobbing my heart out at 2 a.m. on a school day! Me Before You also made my favourites shelf on Goodreads and I can’t wait to see the movie!

Much Ado About Nothing by William Shakespeare

Rating: 5/5 starsScreenshot_2016-06-04-19-01-24-1

This was an unexpected read for me. I was waiting for my dentist to show up and I didn’t have any book with me (because I wasn’t expecting to wait for 2 hours for a stupid check up), so I went online, found a PDF version of Much Ado About Nothing  and fell in love.

 

I wasn’t the biggest fan of Romeo and Juliet (although the stage play in Vinohrady Theatre was awesome), so Much Ado About Nothing took me completely by surprise! The characters were wonderful, the story was captivating and I absolutely adored Beatrice and Benedict’s banter! And again Much Ado About Nothing made my favourites shelf.

The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

Rating: 5/5 stars

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

Yes, I finally read The Raven Boys! And it was truly amazing! I loved the eerie, suspenceful tone of the story and for me the slower pacing in the beginning wasn’t a drawback. I immediately fell in love with Blue and all the raven boys (although Gansey is my favourite ❤ ). I admire Maggie Stiefvater’s writing skills, her ability to create characters that feel so real is astonishing. This book is truly its own and I recommend everyone to read it!

 

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

Rating: 4/5 starsProcessed with VSCO with hb1 preset

This is going to be a hard one, but I’ll try. First of, this is not a happy story. This is a heart-wrenching, emotional book with gorgeous, dark illustrations that created an eerie atmosphere. Although Connor was a believable character, I found him a bit annoying. I get that he’s going through hell, but that’s not an excuse for his behavior. I know that I’m in no position to judge what he’s going through, so don’t kill me in the comments. Overall I really enjoyed this one!

 

City of Ashes by Cassandra Clare

Rating: 4/5 stars

City of Ashes was definitely an improvement on City of Bones.

Well, except for the awkward and cringe worthy Clare-Simon thing. It was SO uncomfortable to read about!! In the beginning I thought Simon was a right pain in the ass and I really wanted to slap him. However, I changed my mind when he stopped being a lovesick puppy started to think for himself. Besides my slight problems with Simon, all the characters were amazing!

The story line was always moving and there were so many plot twists! CoA definitely had a ton of badass, fighting scenes that left me turning pages like crazy.

I feel like I know a lot more about the Shadowhunter world, yet not enough to satisfy my curiosity. And I can’t wait to read the rest of Cassandra Clare’s  books!


 

So, that’s my May Wrap Up! Let me know in the comments what was your favourite book in May. 🙂

See you next time!

Love, Karol ❤

 

